Monday Mailbag #9

Ahoy, me hearties! Today be September 19th, International Talk Like a Pirate Day! So how appropriate it is that Quinn just found out she’s going to be facing pirates. I wonder what pirates in their world are like!

Only a few questions this week, so let’s get to them.

Quinn: Have you ver tried to outwit Bickers on a joke? If so, what was it and what was his reaction?

-CountryGirlMeg

Funny you should ask that. I did once. Momma Henny is always trying to teach me recipes. Something about me not being able to attract a husband without knowing how to cook. As if attracting a husband is a priority for me right now. But she’s been trying to ramp up my love life. So, she gave me a book of her old recipes she planned to pass on to a daughter if she ever had one. I guess she decided I was close enough. I flipped through but it just didn’t interest me. So, I painted some eyes and lips on the cover and put it on the shelf next to Bickers. He’s so grumpy all the time, I thought he could use some female companionship. He didn’t seem to appreciate me setting him up on a blind date, unfortunately.


And yet it shows that even without making any of the dishes, Quinn can’t produce anything from a book of recipes that is not tasteless.


How about split book stew? I hear it tastes like nasty old leather. Want to find out?


Quinn: Are you going to get a partner? Are you interested in anyone? It seems like you have a strong line to Madrigal.

-SusanStardust

Madrigal and I? You think I would– Excuse me. I just vomited a little in my mouth. Alright, sure. Maybe I don’t want to kill him as much as I used to, but I can guarantee you there won’t be any wedding bells where Madrigal and I are concerned.

Have you been talking to Momma Henny? I’m not really looking for love at the moment, and I can’t say I really have my eyes on anyone. Though I bet Valryk was something to look at when he was younger. Still, too old for me. I don’t see that happening for several reasons.


Is the ocean soup? It has water, vegetables, meat, and salt.

-Ellie

And occasionally, bones. Yes, your reasoning is sound. I am forced to concur. The ocean is soup. Now kindly grab a bowl and fill it up with your newfound source of soup and let me know how it compares to Quinn’s cooking. I eagerly await the results.


That’ll do it for this week! Remember, if you have any questions or comments, be sure to leave them in the comment section.

Until next week, enjoy this picture of Captain Walkderplanks and his fearsome ferret foursome.


Leave a comment